Thursday, March 21, 2013

Fundamental Karmic Permutations and Combinations in Vedic Astrology/ Jyotisha

We live and learn. Or not.

We try and figure out what happened and why it happened.  And we try and gauge what the future holds. We decide to live in the present moment and do the best we can.

We aspire and work hard and love.

Why do we do what we do, and not do what we don’t and why only at certain points in our lives.

Why are some people important and not others-connections and want of connections.

India has been a teacher of the world. India has had Rṣis/ Rishis who transcended the intellect and brought knowledge down from the heavens for us. Jyotiṣa/ Jyotisha is a systematic discipline which transcends the intellect and brings the divine awareness into pragmatic reality. It can make the mundane shine.

One could say that of the utmost importance in life is what happens. And as a corollary what does not happen. The rest is incidental.

What happens is the result of an elevated system of Karmic permutations and combinations. On the one hand we have areas and fields of life manifestation denoted by the Bhāvas/ Bhavas/ houses from the Lagna/ ascendant-

Lagna-Self and current circumstance, basic personality, roots, core

Dhana-family and liquid assets

Vikrama-siblings, enterprise

Matṛ/ Matri-home, mother, parental family, childhood

Putra-progeny, mind

Śatru/ Shatru-enemies (internal and external), daily work

Kalatra-spouse, intimacy, Hṛdaya

Raṅdhra/ Randhra-debt, occult

Bhāgya/ Bhagya-father, fortune, religion, faith

Karma-work, attainment

Lābha/ Labha-gains, fulfillment of aspirations

Vyaya-expenditure, sleep, release

And then we have dynamic energies acting on these fields of play through their attributes and lordships-

Ravi-power, kingship, father, pride

Cañdra/ Chandra-mother, other half of royalty, fame, people

Maṅgala-strength, anger

Budha-communications, commerce, work

Gurū/ Guru-wisdom, religion, law, finance

Śukra/ Shukra-marriage, intimacy, corporate

Śani/ Shani-labour, servants, suffering

Rāhu/ Rahu-foreign, espionage, shock, deceit, crown

Ketu-Mokṣa, Moksha, irrationality, hardware

Then we have special references such as the Viṣeṣa Lagna/ special ascendants which show the manifest life (Ārūḍha Lagna), power (Ghāṭika Lagna), wealth (Horā Lagna).

There are so many parts to life and the Vargas deal with that. The Navāmśa Chakra/ D-9 for blessings, skills, marriage, the Daśāmśa Chakra/D-10 for work, the Drekkāṇa (D-3) for siblings, and sexuality and past Karma guiding this life,  Tūryāmśa (D-4) for properties, Saptāmśa (D-7) for progeny, Dwādaśāmśa (D-12) for elders, Ṣoḍaṣāmśa (D-16) for luxuries and so on and so forth till we reach the Ṣaṣṭiāmśa (D-60) chart which contains the sum total of past Karma which is to manifest in this life through the Lagna Cakra or the Rāśi Chakra.

Daśās, both Nakṣatra Daśās and Rāśi Daśās help us to see how time is changing, and which part of the Karma is manifesting.

Through a myriad other techniques revealed by the Sages we are able to understand the trajectory of our own Karma.

This is an art which tells a complex story very simply shorn of all the doubts and the hurt and the highs and the lows-it is simply a tale of what is and what was always meant to be.

Vedic astrology is the highest flight of not only the human mind but of the human soul. It can lead to an understanding of the Veda, and it can lead to the goal.

To have all new articles and updates land directly in your Email Inbox, visit-

No comments:

Post a Comment

Gadget by The Blog Doctor.