Monday, March 11, 2013

Panchanga in Vedic/ Indian Astrology


The term Panchanga suggests The Five Limbs of Time. Oddly, this segment of Jyotish appears to be restricted to the Muhurta/ Election charts these days. The fact of the matter is that the five limbs of the time of birth of any native indicate the nature and attributes of the significations and areas ruled by each of the five limbs that are coming to the native at a broad level, as a promise of the peculiar set of permutations and combinations of birth at that time and at that place.

These promises have to be evaluated first in contect of the reference frame of the Panchanga itself and then the horoscope should be studied. Some peculiarties of the Panchanga are of greater importance than the blessings and curses in the horoscope and this can be a pointer to the importance of the Panchanga. An example can be Tithi Dosha like Chaturdashi Dosha and the Amavasya Dosha. This writer can vouch for the real significance of the latter though everything in Jyotish must never be viewed in a stand-alone manner. A case in point would be the birth chart of the late Prime Minister Shri Lal Bahadur Shastri. Such Doshas are to be remedied at birth or they can entail hellish suffering. If not remedied at birth for some reason, they must be remedied when they can and upon sufficient propitiation relief will be felt at the destined time, to the destined extent as promised by the horoscope.

The five limbs are:

1. Nakshatra (Vayu Tattwa). Health is a major associated area;

2. Vara (Agni Tattwa). Vitality, Major focal areas;

3. Yoga (Akash Tattwa). Binding facor. Spirit. Connectedness;

4. Karana (Prithvi Tattwa). Career. Work. Learning; and

5. Tithi (Jala Tattwa). Relationships. Social interaction. The flux of things.

Note: This knowledge has been revealed in its proper perspective by the teachings of Pandit Sanjay Rath.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Gadget by The Blog Doctor.