Monday, October 07, 2013

Full Aspects of Planets in Vedic Astrology-Pūrṇa Dṛṣṭi/ Poorna Drishti of Grahas in Jyotiṣa/ Jyotisha

Planets in Vedic Astrology have special or full aspects which are termed Pūrṇa Dṛṣṭi/ Poorna Drishti. These have a special significance at the natural level of principles on which these work and have no dependence on the twelve Lagnas rising in the natal horoscope.

Planets or Grahas are much like the individuals that we are, each with their discernible personalities and character traits. In Vedic astrology horoscopes, the intrinsic personalities of these planets/ Grahas are as important as their 'glances' or planetary aspects or Graha Dṛṣṭi/ Drishti.

Just as individuals have desires, so do the planets have desires but their special aspects do not indicate a general desire shared by all Grahas. Instead, they have peculiar and unique significance each.

The general and shared desires of planets are judged in Hindu horoscopes from the 7th House reckoned from the Bhāva/ Bhava where a certain planet happens to be placed in the nativity. This principle has certain important corollaries.

Firstly, the 7th House for this reason of centrality of a general desire becomes the house of death and rebirth because it is well known that it is desire which causes rebirth and the question of rebirth only comes into play once death of the physical body occurs.

Secondly, due to the linkages with death and rebirth, the 7th House (from any concerned reference point in the natal Vedic horoscope) becomes one of the paired houses where Truth/ Satya manifests, the other being the Lagna (Udaya Lagna, Ārūḍha/ Arudha Lagna/Viṣeṣa (Vishesha/ Special) Lagna.

The first house from any reference point indicates the Truth as well because it is Birth and the seventh  from that same reference point is also Truth because it indicates death and culmination. In this world of doubt and opacity of the Kaliyuga, people understand two manifestations as Truth-birth and death. 

Some relatively advanced concepts such as the fidgety Ārūḍha/ Arudha Lagna which cannot sustain itself in the first or the seventh Bhāva/ Bhava are rooted in this principle since Māya/ Maya and Satya cannot exist for long in exactly the same locale for long. One is creation and the other is that which precedes and follows creation-how can they cavort together. So, the Arudha (AL) may come to these places indicated by Brahma and Śiva/ Shiva but cannot stay and hence affords the need to carve out exceptions for the calculation of the Ārūḍha/ Arudha for any house in any nativity.

The central principle behind the full aspects of planets apart from the 7th House principle just enunciated is that these are reserved for the outer planets-Maṅgala/ Mangala/Mars, Gurū/ Guru/ Jupiter, Śani/ Shani/ Saturn and Rāhu/ Rahu, the North Node of the Moon.

These outer planets have the additional bonus of the general 7th House aspect but then the generality of this 7th House aspect, does not stop there. It reduces itself to specific characteristics depending on the planet concerned. More on this is beyond the intended scope of this paper and these higher principles are used in personalised and confidential work on the horoscopes of individual consulters.

Very important tools for analysis of Vedic horoscopes emerge from a study and understanding of these planetary aspects. We are aware that Mars is the brutal and committed warrior. It also happens to be the greatest devotee of God amongst the planets. Its anger and viciousness is in the service of the Devas-it is a Deva Graha. It has two special or full aspects in the horoscope, both in the Rāśi/ Rashi Chakra and the Varga Chakra/ divisional charts in the radix. It aspects the 4th and 8th Houses from its station. The 4th House is that of home and property and Mars is extremely keen to protect the home and family from adverse influence. Note the theme of protection. For Mars defence is the best form of attack.

The other protection is that of life judged in the 8th House and to protect life Mars will not give it a second thought before taking the life of an assailant, for example. Mars is a dire malefic and in an adverse Bhāva/ Bhava like the 8th can take life through a sudden event like an accident. 

Gurū/ Guru/ Jupiter as I never tire of saying is the greatest blessing in our careers as human beings. This Graha has two special aspects, that to the 5th House and that to the 9th House from its station in the nativity. Maṅtra/ Mantra is that which protects Mana/ the mind and also gives blessings accruing from auspicious Karma performed in the previous lifetimes. It has the capacity for infusing knowledge and perspective in any area of life and thereby consecrates and signifies the internal universe of the native in that part of our lives. Likewise, the 9th House aspect of Jupiter is giving us blessings of religion, of acceptance in and belief  in eternal truth and religion. It blesses us with Gurūs/ Gurus and father figures who can guide us in the wasteland and ensure that we do not stray and for this reason the placement of Gurū/ Guru in the 5th House from the Lagna is extolled as it influences both the 9th House of luck and fortune from the Lagna and the Lagna itself. The person's intelligence becomes Sāttwic/ Sattwic and capable of effective navigation even in murky surrounds. Dhī Śakti/ Dhi Shakti or the power of discrimination comes to the person.

Śani/ Shani similarly stands for hard labour and slogging. One is  working away like a mule bearing its terrible and onerous burden. It fully aspects the 3rd and 10th Houses from the Śani/ Shani Lagna. Ah, what a nice planet. It kills that where it is placed with suffocation and extends the helping hand to the 3rd House and the well-meaning kick to the 10th House. Fully. In the 3rd it focusses its gentle eye on the mind while in the 10th on the body. So, one is slaving away mentally and physically, ageing gracefully.

Rāhu/ Rahu, a close confidante and cousin of the planet Saturn is the anti-thesis of Gurū/ Guru and stands for individual thought, planning, aspiration, research and mundane intelligence. Where Gurū/ Guru is spiritual, Rāhu/ Rahu is political and on good days,  diabolical. It also has the 5th and 9th House aspects counted in reverse since it charts a retrograde path opposite to the direct motion of the luminaries. The 9th House aspect (in reverse) brings atheism and cold calculation to human endeavour where integrity and allegiance are matters of convenience. The 5th House aspect beings a planning and view of the future which is peculiar to Rāhu/ Rahu-it is replete with intelligence but not with perspective and truth. Beware though of judging the Grahas, they are judging us instead, through the prism of our Karma. When you feel inclined to judge Rāhu/ Rahu harshly at least simply remember that it is head which wears the crown.

So there is much more to it than meets the eye and special full aspects of the planets reveal a lot about their personalities and their functioning. It is not that these planets are restricted to their full aspects but their other aspects are not intended to be covered or dealt with here. Likewise you have seen that the 7th House is general and common to all Grahas save Ketu, but has important implications. Having said that, this seemingly common 7th House aspect varies greatly in its effect from planet to planet.

These principles are to be applied by the adept Vedic Astrologer in personalised and confidential consulting using the blessings of discernment given by Jupiter and these can reveal the minutest details in the lives of people even in specific areas of their lives (divisional charts).

Personalised and confidential Vedic Astrology Consulting-h

We have launched our Facebook Page just recently -

Google+ Page-
To have all new articles and updates land directly in your Email Inbox, visit-


No comments:

Post a Comment

Gadget by The Blog Doctor.