Wednesday, June 20, 2018

Vimshottari and other Dashas in Vedic Astrology: Deeper Truths of the Harbingers of Karma

Dashas, generally:
Dashas in Vedic astrology are the harbingers of Karma. The natal Vedic horoscope remains the same from birth to death but it is the Dashas, along with other factors such as transits (Gochara) that fructify different parts of the Karma in the same natal horoscope, and thus change life.

Kinds of Dasha:
Just as there are many intricacies in the Vedic horoscope such as Arudha Padas which were not as well-known a few decades back as they are now, though they have always been pillars of Jyotisha, so too the presence of various kinds of Dashas in the classical literature. Not only are there a host of Dashas, there are numerous factors associated with Dashas which are otherwise not known, and which are to be used for effective analysis of the Karma and predictions emanating therefrom.

Higher works and distinct analysis:
Just as one has been travelling higher in terms of advancement of the works written for consulters over the years, as awareness of principles sets in, these intricacies of Dashas are now being used both in distinct papers as well as parts of these higher and advanced papers, as tools for interpretation.

Specific Dashas:
One has written earlier, and used profusely, some of these Dasha systems based on the configurations in individual horoscopes, and those that have received these works, shall readily recognize the fact. For instance, the Padakrama Dasha or the Narayana Dasha of Rashis has been extensively used where fate or determinism plays a significant role, signs indicating circumstance rather than desire.

Other Dashas such as the Dwisaptati Sama Dasha, Ashtottari Dasha, Dwadashottari Dasha, Chataruasheetika Dasha, Shashtihayani Dasha, and so on, have often been used in private papers as tools for investigation of the unfolding of Karma.

Circumstance and desire:
Desire then is left to the Grahas (planets) and the manifestation of this Karmic desire of the planets manifests through the Dashas of these planets in the various systems based on the Nakshatras occupied by these planets.

Vimshottari Dasha, the Chief:
Be that as it may, the classical literature is distinctly clear in that it is the Vimshottari Dasha, which is the chief among all the other Dashas. Thus, even though conditional Nakshatra Dashas may be applicable in a horoscope, in certain ways the Vimshottari Dasha is always applicable.

The term Dasha indicates and means a state of being. Thus, all Dashas aim to reflect the state of affairs in the horoscope under scrutiny owing to their own operation, and precipitation of the Karma in their realm of operation.

Types of Vimshottari Dasha:
The Dasha that is used most often, and rightly so, is a reflection of the social stimuli, public participation, emotions, and the overall flux of life that pertains to the existence of the native of the horoscope in question. However, advanced Jyotisha is quite clear that there are variants of the general Vimshottari which are to be used in cases where the conditions for their applicability are met.
These are: Utpanna Vimshottari, Kshema Vimshottari, Aadhana Vimshottari and Kevala Vimshottari. Especially for predictive purposes, it is important to use these variations so as to arrive at the correct manifestation of the Karma during the operation of the Mahadasha and Antardashas of the various planets. The conditions for the applicability of these variations are distinct and specific.

Judgment of Results of the Vimshottari Dasha:
Thus, when we consider the Vimshottari Dasha in all its classical splendour, we will discover as we proceed that the judgment of its results does not truly emanate from the popular premise which is commonly understood in the public domain.

Suffice it to say at this juncture that there are numerous considerations such as evaluating the lord of the Dasha in ways that are not popularly known, and then moving on to the lord of the sign which the lord of the Dasha occupies.

Separately, we also consider the various internal and external domains of the application of the Dasha, and then the extension of this principle to the mutual interplay of the Mahadasha and the Antardasha is undertaken applying the same device. All this is largely unknown in the realm of popular astrology, even in its more sincere domains.

In the result, it is clear that the meaningful journey in Vedic astrology involves traversing increasingly rarified though classically astute segments and principles of Vedic astrology, and equally, it is a very rewarding personal journey to try and adhere closely to the works and words of the Rishis.

© Anurag Sharma
All Rights Reserved

No comments:

Post a Comment

Gadget by The Blog Doctor.